I deactivated all of my social media accounts in November. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. Everything. I was going to take a short break and at first, I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it. I figured I would give in after a bit because I used to spend so much time on it, especially Facebook. But after a while, I realized I felt a degree of liberation from it.

With deactivating everything, there would be no need to habitually and compulsively check for new notifications, likes, comments, retweets, or what have you. There would be no need to feel like comparing myself to other people. There would be no need to feel any jealousy from other peoples’ posts. There would be no need to feel inadequate compared to everybody else (even though I still do regardless). There would be no need to pretend to be someone I’m not through my posts. There would be nothing to bother me. There would be nothing to upset me.

And that’s what I let go of. That’s what I left behind. A source of trying to get approval and validation, as lame as that sounds. And it felt amazing. It felt like a weight off of my shoulders. But there were some good things I missed about having social media, like finding the funniest shit and occasionally (or rarely) keeping in touch with some people. So that’s why I’m back on it.

